Can You Hear Me, God?

“There are a great many opinions in this world, and a good half of them are professed by people who have never been in trouble.”  Anton Chekov

In the midst of a mess, I think about a shepherd-boy / man-king, known as King David, who stepped into a pickle of a quagmire, suffering from his own consequences.  David was called-out by another man (Nathan), who came with some chutzpah, a deep-rooted conviction, and a knowledge that this could cost him his life.  David owned up to his stuff, an injustice committed on an innocent woman, and an innocent man. 

Here are some themes that stand out:.

  1. Responsibility;
  2. Freedom;
  3. Consequences.

My own prodigal-son journey connects with a thankfulness for the life-saving transition from dark to light; the Word; and forgiveness that comes from the Father.  Psalm 51 has been a regular “go-to” psalm for battles of memories and mistakes.    Here are some excerpts of Psalm 51 from The Message (image from  Ekklesiaproject.org):

“. . . God . . . grace!
Huge in mercy—wipe out my bad record.
Scrub away my guilt,
soak out my sins in your laundry.
. . . sins are staring me down.

4-6 You’re the One I’ve violated . . . you’ve seen it all. You have all the facts before you;
whatever you decide about me is fair.
I’ve been out of step with you . . .                             What you’re after is truth from the inside out.

7-15 Soak me in your laundry and I’ll come out clean . . Tune me in to foot-tapping songs,
set these once-broken bones to dancing.
. . . God, make a fresh start in me . . .put a fresh wind in my sails! . . . Commute my death sentence . . .

16-17 Going through the motions doesn’t please you,
a flawless performance is nothing to you.
I learned God-worship
when my pride was shattered.
Heart-shattered lives ready for love
don’t for a moment escape God’s notice.”

Catch up with the whole psalm, as you see fit, Psalm 51.  There have been better men than me, who have wandered into the thick of it, turmoil resulting from their own choices.  King David knew about being on the bottom looking down at his sin and looking up at his God, asking for forgiveness and for help.

In Christ Psalm 51 (theromans6man.wordpress.com)

Fresh Starts (truthanchors.wordpress.com)

One thought on “Can You Hear Me, God?

  1. T, “when my pride was shattered” , good heavens but that hits me like a ton of bricks! Wow. Nice post. Responsibility…freedom…consequences. Three little ducks, all in a row.

    Excellent post. Much to think about.

Leave a Reply

