Good Letters Written

https://i0.wp.com/thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/justintaylor/files/2012/07/rembrandt-apostle-paul-in-prison.jpgI went to summer camp for a week, I was twelve, and Mom wanted me to write her a letter from camp.  Over all the summer camps, I remembered to write her once or twice.  OOOOPS.   Mom’s letter-writing has been unfathomably consistent throughout the years.  She has been faithful.  A faithful letter-writer.  You know (and you do know) that there have been many letter-writers through the centuries.  Faithful letter-writers: some known, some unknown.  And, there have been some good letters written.  Paul.  Now he was quite a letter-writer, and his letters were good letters, although quite disruptive at times.  I think his bold letter-writing had something to do with why so many folks were really, really ticked off at him.  He was shaking up the way things worked at that time; he antagonized the power-brokers; and he confronted mediocrity / problematic behavior.  Paul’s second letter to Timothy is an example of what I am thinking about right now.  (Image below from cairesinperu.com)

http://cairesinperu.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/apostle-paul-in-prison.jpg

The following are roughly paraphrased excerpts  from 2 Timothy, along with my own thoughts inspired from this letter.

“Hey, Timothy … Apparently I have, once again, ticked off some particular folks, and here I am, once again, in police custody.  They aren’t going to let me out this time.    I think this might be the end of the road, but soon it will be the beginning of the rest of eternity.

 Listen, my friend, I need to communicate some important things, since this might be my last letter.  I want to make sure you know … that I have always thought of you as a son.  I have great respect for you.  I have great hope that you will continue on in this ministry of the gospel of Jesus Christ.  And, at the same time, I truly hope that you can stay out of jail … unlike me … And I hope you can avoid getting beat up on.  Its not all what it is cracked up to be.  What I am passing on to you needs to be, in turn, passed on to other believers.  What I am writing comes out of ‘… the will of God, according to the promise of life which is in Christ Jesus …’   I think of you and those you meet with, continually, and that leads me to pray for you.  I wish I could see you all.  Timothy, I know your faith is strong.  I also think of when your grandmother and your mother prayed for you, and prayed specifically about your giftedness, and they encouraged you in your giftedness.  You know, Bro, God has not given us fear … nor has He intended us to have fear.  No.  What He wants, among other noble and honorable things, if for us to embrace His redemptive power, His love, and a sound mind.  Well, I need to take a break on this letter-writing session … I’m suddenly very tired.”

Published by SpeakListenPrayDon'tBeStupid

I am somewhere in Mountain Standard Time. Been working with high-risk folks, for most of my life. Not sure what's next; but it can't be the same thing that it has been. I've spent some long overdue time with my two kiddos, my wonderful & brilliant & beautiful wife. And I have spent some time with the two dogs; mountain dogs. Healing has been happening. I need a new map; a good map. Like many of us, I have been asking God to speak. God has done so, at times. I'm thinking that this is a part of what prayer is. Some days I don't listen very well;, some days I do listen. and I try not to act stupid. I really hope that you enjoy this blog, and that you will be encouraged about God: what He is speaking into and what you are listening to him say. Peace, T

One thought on “Good Letters Written

  1. Excellently written. I love the idea of paraphrasing the original. Did anyone do more to shape Christianity, other than Christ Himself, than Paul? I wonder…

Leave a comment

Writing Without Words

“Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.” ― Rudyard Kipling

Being Lydia!

A Life Rich in Faith, Bipolar, Chronic Pain, Creativity & Purple!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

the Book of Bokeh

Bokeh describes the character or "feel" of the out-of-focus areas in a photograph.

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Explore Newness

My quest to do or learn something NEW as often as I can!

biochicklet

A fine WordPress.com site

history of giants

Dr. Sandra Mowery's Examination of the Historical Facts and Legends Regarding Giants

Steve McCurry Curated

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element.

What Do You Do?

God, work, life, and musings

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

LilWizz's Blog

Blogging about art, life and everything else

priorhouse blog

Photos, art, and a little bit of LIT.

To Love and Truth

Journeying The Way to the Age to Come

The Official Colonel Sanders Podcast

An All American Rags to Chickens Story