Wants to Hide and God Knows Her

This post comes from “Be Real, Please!!, found on one of my blogs: “Other Side of the Trees” blog (http://tdanieldavis.wordpress.com)  This post is rewritten specifically for SpeakListenPrayDon’tBeStupid.

I learned about a woman, today, who wants to be Barbie  As I am writing this, I think of the woman … at the well, where Jesus came and talked to her.  Why would I suddenly think about the woman at the well?  Maybe I will know the answer to my question when I am finished; maybe I won’t know; maybe you will know.  Being a guy who lives at 8800 feet in the mountains, chops wood, snow blows, a family man, psychotherapist … I have no interest in Barbie, never have.  My daughter does not even like Barbie!

But …

This story was surprisingly disturbing.  My heart is heavy beyond measure for this woman.  I see this story as a vivid and disruptive metaphor for … fear of authenticity, fear of intimacy: both coming from the enemy, in the form of deception and lies.

“Blondie Bennett, Barbie-Obsessed Woman, Uses Hypnotherapy To Make Herself ‘Brainless’ … “

Is it just me? Or does the title of the article sadden you, as well? Here are excerpts from the article in the Huffington Post.      (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/02/19/blondie-bennett-barbie-woman-hypnotherapy-stupid_n_4815495.html)

    • A California woman who describes herself as Barbie-obsessed says she uses hypnotherapy sessions in the hopes that it will decrease her IQ.
    • “I just want to be the ultimate Barbie. I actually want to be brainless,” Blondie Bennett, 38, told Barcroft TV. “I don’t like being human, if that makes sense… Natural is boring… I would love to be like, completely plastic.”
    • Bennett … five breast augmentations … other procedures in the hopes of attaining her goal. But now … undergoing hypnotherapy sessions two-to-three times a week in order to dumb down her thoughts.
    • She says it’s working.
    • “I’ve had 20 sessions and I’m already starting to feel ditzy and confused all the time,” Bennett told the Daily Mail.
    • She … loves her looks, (but) her plastic features tend to turn off a lot of people … friends and family don’t approve of her lifestyle.

Live Authentically

I am not able to get past my belief that this story is about a woman who has great pain: not so much physical, but emotional … psychological … possibly traumatic.  We can all agree that life is intense, and at times some of us want to hide.  At other times our hiding is found in joining the crowd.  To be so passionate about removing your pain to the point that you don’t want to think, anymore, about anything … It feels tragic to me.  I hurt for this woman, and I wonder if she ever cried out to God from a dark hour. Sometimes we wonder where God is. But God is there.  We cannot ever buy into the lie that He is not with us.   https://i1.wp.com/joshfults.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/where-are-you-god.jpg

Then, my last thought, this is a jagged picture of the deep desires to self-medicate.

http://joshfults.com/2013/05/21/apologetic-wednesday-where-are-you-god/

I Feel Your Pain

To desperately be someone other than who you are.  Why?  Because of the pain.  And when it comes to pain, your pain is your pain.  I have NOT walked in your shoes.  But Jesus has walked in our shoes.  And Jesus is the one that can reallly FEEL YOUR PAIN.   And to some degree, I can feel this woman’s pain.  And I think you can, too.

GOD LOVES US WHETHER WE LIKE IT OR NOT.

 

God loves each of us as if thereGod loves each of us as if<br />
there

God loves each of us as if there were only one of us.

Read more at http://www.quoteswave.com/picture-quotes/25713#hp2k8mvKqwwUZArY.99

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wants to Hide and God Knows Her

  1. hey T – also wanted to share this song, I am sure you know – but dude – this song carried me through that rough weather on a road trip – this song came on like five times that night – and while out has nothing to do with weather (or this post topic – lol) it was special that trip…. and wanted to see if you knew it….

Leave a Reply

