A Bridge

Metaphors: you like them, or you don’t.  “Bridge Over Troubled Water” originally flowed from the recording artists Paul Simon and Art Garfunkle.  Since their release of this tune, a number of recording musical artists tried their hand, and voice, at performing BOTW.  Michael W. Smith is one of those bold souls.  I recommend the link at the bottom of this post for a Youtube glimpse.  “A declaration of friendship” is a phrase that stood out, exploring the views about what this song actually means.  Simon and Garfunkel’s other lyrics, some of them – not all of them, included references to the drug culture of the Sixties … and this “data” led some opinionators (not a real word … Oh, I just invented it!) to the idea that BOTW was really about using drugs.

Come on, people!!!!!

Here is a perspective (my paraphrase):

“Paul Simon was never shy about talking about drugs / drug use, so to suggest that this song is about drugs, presented in a very subtle below-the-radar manner doesn’t fit at all … So, don’t make the song into something that it isn’t, suggesting that the song is saying something it is not.”

YEAH!  That’s what I’m talking about.  BOTW is about relationships.  BOTW is about the reality of life being difficult, and painful; and someone walking with you.  And that, is part of what drives this particular post.  There is usually someone, somewhere, ready to take something that is meaningful,  good, and reformat the work into something entirely different.  One of the key phrases in the song is “I will lay me down … like a bridge over troubled water …”

 

“The Vine Bridges In Japan Will Totally Reinvent How You Think Of Bridges” / Huffington Post

Bridges. Metaphor EXTRAORDINAIRE.  Ever heard the expression “Don’t burn your bridges”?  And, have you ever been in a situation where you were in the midst of ambivalence and sadness because you thought you burned a bridge, but either a) you were mistaken in that you are not the one that burned that bridge, or b) it was a bridge that needed to be burned?  And, hopefully, there was someone … there is someone … who walked / walks with you through all that.    What about a situation where you are a bridge to someone who is in some troubled waters, and you walk with them out of the wilderness, the desert, into a place where there is some joy, some cold water, some good community?  Fortunately, I’ve experienced all of the above, including the scenario where I was in troubled waters … and I found a bridge to get me out of the thick of it.  Immeasurable thankfulness.  Here is an excerpt of the lyrics:

When you’re weary
feeling small
When tears are in your eyes
I’ll dry them all
I’m on your side oh when times get bad
And friends just can’t be found
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

When you’re down and out                               

When you’re on the street

When evening falls so hard

I will comfort you ooh
I’ll take your part oh when darkness comes
And pain is all around
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

Link for M.W. Smith singing this tune:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qSAckZlBXc 

One thought on “A Bridge

  1. I agree totally and absolutely! Well said.

    I also liked your ‘Cmon people!’…it reminded me powerfully of The Youngbloods’ “Get Together” one of my favorite 60’s songs…

Leave a Reply

