He Calls, I Call

RING … RING … RING …

http://www.commons.wikimedia.org/ wiki/File:Telephone_model_PTT24- IMG_9919.jpg

“Get the phone, somebody.”

RING … RING …

“Phone, guys!  Somebody get the phone!”

“No, you get the phone.”

“Why?”

“Because it’s for you.  Its God, man.  If I were you, I’d get the phone.”

Switchboard operators / pixgood.com

Sometimes I don’t listen well. Sometimes I do. And when the phone rings, I don’t always answer it.  

Here are a few lyrics from a song called “Ocean (Where Feet May Fall)” … performed by a group called Hillsong.

 

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dy9nwe9_xzw

I think of the story where the guys are in the boat, waters ‘getting rough, Jesus calls Peter out … out of the boat … out on to the water.  And the water is the great unknown for the fisherman  (irony?).  Different context, yes?  In the boat, fishing, it’s not a problem.  But to get out of the boat?  God was calling, and that changes things up.  Feet may fail for me, and they have, and along the way I connect with this … “mystery” of God. Faith emerges, but I sometimes question my progression.  So, He calls, I call — on Him — because I find myself in deep yogurt, or more accurately, deep waters.  But if I can just keep my eyes … above the waves … and my soul will rest (rest, what a concept) in God. He says I belong to Him.  And I am actually okay with that.  

4 thoughts on “He Calls, I Call

  1. Thank you for this. It is a good wake-up call. Have you ever heard of Greg Sczabel? He is a local guy here in Western Canada. But he has some powerful lyrics. Your telephone reminded me of his song “Unlisted”.

    Are you unlisted
    ‘Cause I don’t see your name here anywhere
    Surely I’ve missed it
    Cause I hope you wouldn’t miss this day for the world
    Won’t you tell me it’s a lie
    I won’t see you eye to eye
    On that beautiful, beautiful day
    Won’t you tell me it’s not true
    I gave everything for you
    But you don’t want to know me,,,

    It is kind of opposite to the Hillsong one. This is God asking you to follow Him on the water or anywhere, just be there on that day. And Hillsong is saying “Yes Lord, I will be there!”

    • Lydia – I’ve read your reply several times, and I wanted to wait until I had some time to respond, as opposed to sending off the standard “Thank you.” These lyrics are potent, and your comments at the bottom resonate. Sczabel’s lyrics, have a relational tension, one trying to reach another, but unable to do so; the one asking the other if she “unlisted”. One “pursues” in a redemptive, honorable, sense; the other hides, reason unknown. A great deal of pain. Hillsong’s contrast is profound, now that you mention it: “Yes, Lord, I will be there!” Thanks for taking time to give these good words. Peace.

    • So much there, in that two sentence-glimpse of the bigger story. What was it like for Peter to be in the midst of all that … a boat in a storm, seeing Jesus … the man he looked up to more than any other … calling him out of his zone of comfort, going for it, and then getting caught up in what Jesus was doing, and what (Peter) was afraid of … Sounds like this story has some resonance with you and your own story and journey. Peace –

Leave a Reply

