I Know A Guy Who Owns a Pretty Nice Sword …

Tolkien’s Gandalf, opens up The Two Towers (2nd of three films) facing off with a Balrog on one side, his people on the opposite side.  Gandalf standing in the gap, armed with a staff and a sword;   armed with courage, passion, wisdom, life-experience, vision and redemptive confidence.  

A pair of literal double-edged swords. https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/double-edged_sword

The sword, such an intense symbol for quite a few ideas, concepts, realities, etc.  A fairly famous place where a sword is used metaphorically  is in Ephesians 6.  The reference, there, is “the sword of the spirit.”  Another place, Hebrews 4, the reference is “For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

Lately, I have found myself in some uncharted waters, facing some grueling battles within me; but far more accurate and evident, I have been in the midst of fighting against the forces of mediocrity, self-pity, and the notorious enemy emphasized in the New Testament. So, in the context of life, I am stepping out of … “that” … and into “this”.  And as I step out of “that” and into “this”, my intent is to keep in step with He who saves, and He who fights for us, and with us, and equips us.  Indeed, I am equipped with a sword for when the battles come … and they have come, and they will come … and I know that I will prevail over those dark spirits and principalities who oppose the Christ, the Body, and my family.  What other choice do I have … 

I have been forgiven for so much, including my choices to give up hope on different days, at different hours.  I am in the process of reclaiming hope, now.  I reclaim lost ground, now.  A stake has been driven into the earth, pounded down beneath the snow-covered surface of the ground: a stake that proclaims this ground as sacred.  And it was the ground, the surface of this fickle earth, that some supernatural Blood was spilled on to from the Christ … a man from a place known as Nazareth.  This was long ago, but the Blood of Jesus Christ of Nazareth has transcended every day, week, month, year, century since then to fight against the strongest foe, and to wash away all of our stuff that makes us unclean.

 

Leave a Reply

